Burning the Books

Rules FAQ

  • The phrase "if able" means that this ability can be initiated even if one or more opponents do not have an eligible attachment to discard. Any opponent who does must still choose and discard one.

  • You can keep initiating this effect as long as you have power on characters and there is at least one attachment that can be discarded from play.

  • An attachment can be saved from this effect. If any attachment is saved, the pre-then aspect of the effect has not successfully resolved in full, so the post-then aspect of the effect does not attempt to resolve either. That means you cannot initiate this effect again in that scenario. (See The word "Then".)

  • If the effect is initiated again, it can be canceled by Outwit or Someone Always Tells, since the triggering condition "when the effects (of something) would initiate" occurs again. Note that the specific wording of this card makes it an exception to the general rule that the post-then aspect of the effect cannot be canceled separately.

  • The pre-then and post-then aspects of the effect share a common reaction window, which opens after the entire effect has resolved. For instance, if a non-loyal attachment is discarded from play, the choice of whether to initiate the effect again happens before the reaction of Edric Dayne (HMW). If multiple non-loyal attachments are discarded by initiating the effect multiple times, Edric can choose among them once the entire When Revealed ability has resolved. (See FAQ.)

1255
One quick comment about the last entry... Since the wording is similar to the original Forced March, there was a dilemma whether to also follow the official ruling about Forced March that was in direct contradiction with FAQ entry 1.8, saying that there is indeed a reaction window between the pre-then and the post-then aspect of the effect. But since the original Forced March is no longer part of the legal card pool, and since that ruling did not elaborate why and in which part it overruled the official FAQ, it was decided to just follow the FAQ instead for Burning the Books and all similar abilities going forward. —
"A Thousand Eyes, and One"

Rules FAQ

  • You draw 1 card regardless of which option you choose for the first part of the effect. Drawing a card is not tied to the second option.

  • You can play this event just to draw 1 card, even if no opponent has any cards in their hand or shadows area. (See previous ruling on The Inn at the Crossroads.)

  • In a Melee game, you are not allowed to show the cards to another player when you look at them. However, you may verbally share any hidden information you have learned. When you do, you are not required to tell the truth. (See Hidden Information.)

  • A player is not allowed to shuffle or rearrange their shadow cards at any point. If you look at multiple cards in a player's shadows area, you should be able to track their identity for as long as they remain in shadows. (See While a card is in shadows.)

1255
Septa Unella

Rules FAQ

  • Septa Unella blanks non-participating characters as well.

  • When Septa Unella attacks, she does not cause other attacking characters (nor potential defending characters) to lose stealth until after the window for using stealth has already passed.

  • If a character gains power for renown, Septa Unella's ability can cause it to lose other challenge resolution keywords (insight, intimidate, or pillage) before they are used. The first player determines the order in which challenge resolution keywords are processed. Note that all challenge resolution keywords are optional though, so it is perfectly valid for a player to decline taking power for renown.

  • If two or more constant abilities would blank one another, the first player decides which one applies. (See Priority of Simultaneous Resolution.)

1255
Garth Greenhand

Rules FAQ

  • If you lose control of attached location, Garth Greenhand will become illegally attached and will get discarded. That also happens if Garth Greenhand's text box is blanked at any point (for instance, by Brother's Robes), because it will lose the play permission of being allowed to be attached to a location rather than a character. On the other hand, assaulting (or otherwise blanking) attached location will not cause Garth Greenhand to become illegally attached.

  • You can attach Garth Greenhand to a limited location like The Arbor or Redwyne Straits.

  • You can trigger Randyll Tarly (Core) immediately after he becomes a participating character. If you are the attacking player, this happens in the same reaction window as reactions to a challenge being initiated and reactions to a character being declared as an attacker. If you control Highgarden Courtier, you can stand any unique character you control in the same way.

  • Characters get +1 STR after they are declared as attackers, so it will be too late for Roseroad Patrol to use stealth if a character you control becomes a character with the highest STR in play due to Garth Greenhand's ability.

1255
Blackwater Forces

Rules FAQ

  • If Blackwater Forces is participating in the challenge, it is a valid target for its own ability. But note that it will no longer be participating if the ability that stands it also removes it from the challenge.
1255