Strained Reserves

Rules FAQ

  • The number 2 (or 4 if you have a Summer plot) is for all cardtypes combined.

  • Marshaling or putting a card into play as a duplicate does not count towards your limit. However, if you have already reached your limit, you can no longer attempt to marshal or put cards into play, even if they would enter play as a duplicate. So make sure you marshal your duplicates first.

  • You can freely marshal cards into shadows, since the cards you marshal into shadows have no cardtype. But you are limited by the plot if you want to bring cards out of shadows.

  • A character, location or attachment is "put into play" any time it enters play without being marshaled in the marshaling phase. That includes ambush, shadows, and various card abilities (like Freedmen, for instance). The only exception is cards returning to play when an effect that removed them from the game expires (for instance, if Coldhands leaves play). Such cards do not count towards your limit and are not blocked by Strained Reserves.

  • If an event card enters play as an attachment, you are considered to have put an attachment into play. So playing Risen from the Sea will count towards your limit (unless you save a character with no attachments). If you are already at your limit, you can still play those events, but they will fail to enter play as attachments.

  • If you put a card into play from an opponent's out-of-play area, it counts towards your limit, not your opponent's.

  • Strained Reserves might also block some forced abilities from resolving (for instance, A Mummer's Farce).

  • Strained Reserves will "remember" whether you have already marshaled or put into play any cards that round before it was revealed. On the other hand, if you reveal a new plot in the middle of the round, Strained Reserves no longer affects the game.

1273
Battle Beneath the Wall

Rules FAQ

  • The ability affects all players, including the player who revealed this plot.

  • Characters that are eligible at the time of declaring attackers or defenders must be declared, so usually those that are standing and have the corresponding challenge icon. But a player is not forced to make decisions that would make a character eligible. For instance, you do not have to use Seal of the Hand to stand a kneeling character before a challenge is initiated.

  • If Jousting Contest is revealed, you can still only declare one character (of your choice) as attacker or defender.

  • If Storm's End (BtB) is used to change the challenge type, attacking characters have already been declared. If the original challenge type was the named one, the attacking player had to declare all eligible attackers, but the defending player does not, because the challenge type is now . If was the named type, it works the opposite way.

1273
The Warden of the East

Rules FAQ

  • If multiple characters are revealed at the same time, you can only trigger the reaction once.

  • If a character is permanently revealed (for instance, due to Wardens of the East), you can only trigger the reaction the moment it was first revealed.

  • You can trigger the reaction if a search effect instructs the opponent to reveal the character (usually before adding it to hand).

  • You cannot trigger the reaction if a character is "revealed" as part of checking play restrictions (for instance, showing a valid character in hand for the ability of Arianne Martell (Core)).

1273
Lysa Arryn

Rules FAQ

  • Characters being considered loyal makes a difference for cards like The Hollow Hill or Lady Stoneheart.

  • You cannot use Fealty to reduce the cost of a non-loyal character, even if Lysa's ability would immediately make it loyal when it enters play. However, the character is still considered to have entered play as a loyal character. That means Joffrey Baratheon (GoH) can react, but Captain's Daughter cannot.

  • Your initiative value cannot be reduced below 0. If it is a negative number after all relevant modifiers have been applied, it is treated as 0.

  • Lysa gains one instance of each keyword from each loyal character you control, even if that character has multiple instances of a keyword. But she can still gain multiple instances of the same keyword if she is gaining it from two different characters.

  • If Lysa gains the no attachments keyword, any attachment on her becomes illegally attached and is discarded from play. If she gains bestow immediately upon entering play, you can use the bestow keyword to put gold on her.

  • Immunity is not a keyword, so Lysa will not gain any immunities with her ability.

1273
The Whispering Sound

Rules FAQ

  • You can immediately trigger The Whispering Sound if it enters play itself during the challenges phase.

  • If you do not successfully draw 2 cards (for example, if The High Sparrow only lets you draw 1), the post-then part of the effect does not resolve, so you do not place a card on top of your deck.

1273