Harren the Black

Rules FAQ

  • If you lose control of attached location, Harren the Black will become illegally attached and will get discarded. That also happens if Harren the Black's text box is blanked at any point (for instance, by Brother's Robes), because it will lose the play permission of being allowed to be attached to a location rather than a character. On the other hand, assaulting (or otherwise blanking) attached location will not cause Harren the Black to become illegally attached.

  • If there is a copy of a unique location in an opponent's discard pile, that player cannot marshal that location even as a duplicate.

  • An opponent can still marshal a location from their discard pile via an ability that allow this (for instance, King's Landing (SoKL)), as long as there are no other copies of that location in their discard pile. (See previous ruling on Baelor Blacktyde.)

  • The reaction to a card being pillaged is forced, but the pillage keyword itself is entirely optional. You may decline to use pillage on some (or all) of your characters.

  • Cards discarded by the forced reaction of Harren the Black are not discarded using pillage. You can still trigger reactions such as Corpse Lake for those cards, but you cannot trigger reactions to a card being pillaged.

  • If you have multiple characters with pillage in the challenge, Harren the Black will trigger after each instance of pillage, before moving on to the next one.

  • If a character discards additional cards using pillage (for instance, due to Scouting Vessel or Torrhen's Square), Harren the Black will trigger for each additional card as well.

  • If Harren the Black discards the last remaining card of each player's deck, the first player decides who wins the game. (See Winning the Game.)

1255
The Knight

Rules FAQ

  • Since The Knight's ability does not require you to "choose" targets, your opponents will not know which characters you intend to return to hand until after the cancel window has passed.

  • You can trigger The Knight even if there is only 1 character in the defending player's discard pile. If you do, the claim value will not be raised, because the pre-then aspect of the effect has not successfully resolved in full. (See The word "Then".)

  • You can use Caggo Corpsekiller to place one of the characters in its owner's dead pile instead of returning it to hand. If you do, the pre-then aspect of the effect is still considered to have resolved in full, so the claim value will be raised as well. (See Replacement Effects.)

1255
Robert's Rebellion

Rules FAQ

  • If you reveal Robert's Rebellion with Battle of the Trident, the game will "remember" whether you lost a challenge prior to revealing the plot. You will still discard 3 power if you did. On the other hand, if you lose a challenge while Robert's Rebellion is revealed, then reveal a different plot later in the phase, you will not discard any power.

  • Losing a challenge that was changed to with Storm's End (BtB) still counts as losing a challenge.

  • The forced interrupt triggers before any lasting effects that last "until the end of the phase" expire, and before any delayed effects resolve "at the end of the phase". If you use Nefarious Acolyte to blank the text box of Robert's Rebellion, the plot will still be blank at the time the forced interrupt would normally trigger, so you do not discard any power.

  • The forced interrupt triggers even if you have less than 3 power on your faction card. You simply discard all the power you can.

1255
Blackhaven Rider

Rules FAQ

  • You can trigger the reaction even if one or more players control no loyal characters they can kneel. Each other player must still choose and kneel one.

  • A character is not an eligible target of this ability if it cannot be knelt. That means you cannot choose a kneeling character, a character that "cannot kneel" (for instance, due to The Black Cells), or a character that "cannot be knelt by card effects" (for instance, Bran Stark (BtB)).

1255
Victarion Greyjoy

What does the "immune to opponent's character abilities" actually stop? Is it only triggered abilities or constant abilities too?

Constant too. If you attack with little Theon, Victarion will be able to defend and not have his strength excluded from the challenge. —